Prospect Hill Academy Charter School

Skip to main content

Admissions Overview

Prospect Hill Academy is a tuition-free, K-12 charter public school located in Somerville and Cambridge. Our mission is to prepare each student for success in college, inspire a lifelong love of learning, and foster responsible citizenship. As one of the highest-rated charter schools in Massachusetts, 95% of our graduates enroll in college.

Admission to Prospect Hill Academy Charter School is lottery-based and open to all Massachusetts residents with preference given to Somerville and Cambridge residents and students with siblings in the school. Lotteries are generally held between March and July of a given application cycle.

There are no academic requirements to be admitted to Prospect Hill Academy and no testing is administered prior to admission. However, accepted students are assigned to a specific grade only after completing a grade level assessment.

Prospect Hill Academy does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, creed, sex, ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender identity, mental or physical disability, age, ancestry, athletic performance, special need, proficiency in the English language or in a foreign language, or prior academic achievement.
 
QUESTIONS? WE ARE HAPPY TO HELP!
 
Contact an Admissions Coordinator:
 
Early Childhood (grades K-3):
Cathy Traniello, ctraniello@phacs.org or 617-284-7811
 
Upper Elementary (grades 4-6):
Carol Saulnier, csaulnier@phacs.org or 617-684-8520
 
Middle School and High School (grades 7-9):
Rose Lynch, rlynch@phacs.org or 617-284-7937
 
All Grades:
Victoria Ellis, admissions@phacs.org or 617-284-7911
 
NEED ASSISTANCE IN SPANISH, HAITIAN CREOLE OR PORTUGUESE?
 
Contact a Translator:
 
Spanish:
Mercedes Escorihuela, mescorihuela@phacs.org or 617-284-7924
 
Haitian Creole:
Rose Dorgilus, rdorgilus@phacs.org or 617-284-7936
 
Portuguese:
Thais Chandler, tchandler@phacs.org or 617-284-7935

Our Admissions Lotteries were conducted on Thursday March 15, 2018 and Monday June 11, 2018 and admissions for the 2018-2019 school year are now complete.
 
 
To view the status of your application, please log into your SchoolMint account at pha.schoolmint.net
 
If you need assistance, please feel free to contact our Admissions Coordinators and/or our Spanish/Haitian Creole/Portuguese Translation staff - see the bottom of this page for contact information!

News

New Student Registration Begins Monday April 2nd
Applicants who were offered & accepted seats after the March 15th lottery can log in to pha.schoolmint.net to begin the registration process starting at noon on Monday April 2, 2018.
Please be sure to complete your student's registration within 10 days after receiving acceptance confirmation.

Notice re: Capped Cities

We regret that we were recently instructed by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) to temporarily halt enrollment of students who reside in the following cities due to those school districts having reached their charter school enrollment cap: Everett, Lynn, Malden, Randolph and Salem, among others.

 

For the full memo click here. With questions and concerns, please contact DESE or your local State representatives.


Admissions Forms & Documents